Knee Pain and Discipline: I Did It!

This morning I ran my fourth consecutive Sunday!

Sunday Runday is now a thing. 🙂

And met up with a new friend from our local running club. Bless technology! Someone else posted last night in the facebook group about running in the morning and we both responded. We had met once at previous group run but didn’t have time to chat. The OP didn’t show but she and I met and had a great time!

I was about seven minutes late because at first I went to the wrong trail entrance on another street. But luckily she’s patient and didn’t bolt. It was the first time I ran with someone who didn’t have a route all planned. We just made some suggestions and tried it out.

It was 28 degrees this morning at 7:30 a.m. I started out with a knit hat and a gaiter, plus a base layer and windbreaker. Light pair of gloves. After the first mile, we looped back to our cars both shed some layers. I got rid of the hat and gaiter. It felt GOOD to be without a hat, feeling the wind on my neck. I feel like I’m getting more robust. My body seems to be acclimating to the cold and I can run comfortably with less layers now.

Right away, my knee pain from yesterday showed up. But I was determined. It was bad enough that I was slow, but having to walk so much of it was mortifying. She wanted to get in 6 miles and so did I. We ended up with 4.24 miles, and she said we could stop.

She ran with me at times and ahead at others, and I was fine either way. I was just grateful she didn’t cut the run short. Although I suppose an injury does deserve some compassion-it probably helped that I didn’t complain and did my best to run as much as possible. She could tell I was trying.

Would I have tried without someone else to consider? Probably not. Woulda gone home.

But that’s the great thing about accountability. Today I learned that having another person to run with not only motivates your pace, but makes you want to be a better runner, period. I didn’t want to get in the way of her goals. There was mutual respect.

Since joining this club I’m discovering that runners are generally reliable people.

I was a little anxious about oversleeping but got plenty of rest and woke up refreshed.

I was glad to make it today after missing the group run yesterday. I felt back on track.

I’m convinced that my knee pain is due to lack of running this week. My knees haven’t been this bad since I ran the Cinco de Miler last year– after seven MONTHS without training beforehand. Except the night prior.

My last attempt was Tuesday morning– for class we were inside the local athletic club on the treadmills. We were told to “dress accordingly” but since I never go to gyms, I was over-dressed. I was so hot indoors on the treadmill all I could think about was feeling gross and over-heated. I definitely held back. Now I’ll know that indoors means a t-shirt, not a base layer. And shorter pants.

Hours later, my knees still throb.

Tomorrow is my rest day, thank God. I’m understanding why we need them now.

But Tuesday I will be back in training, pain or no. Maybe I’ll get some Bengay tonight.

I’m proud of myself for hobbling through this– that was bad ass!! I never brought up quitting. I was open-minded about where she wanted to go. I did the best with what I had.

I discovered this morning that I’d rather be struggling with knee pain, practically hobbling, than cut a run short or ditch it all together.

Why?

Because I am a runner.

2 comments on “Knee Pain and Discipline: I Did It!

  1. You’re a hardcore runner but I’d hate to see you sidelined due to injury! Maybe research some stretches or other advice to keep your knees healthy? Haha sincerely, your massage therapist friend 😇

    • Don’t worry, I’m on it! I’m icing it today, elevating after work, and asking my trainer tomorrow in class about stretches. We’ve also learned some dynamic stretches, I have some diagrams about it. I got a book at Jewel with suggestions for treating specific injuries, too. Thanks for your concern! ❤

Leave a Reply

