I Did Run (5.37) Miles!

This afternoon I ran in a t-shirt and shorts!! Circa 65 degrees.

I’m not going to beat myself up for not running earlier like I planned. I still ran!

I decided I would run five miles today and set that as my goal on my running app.

And I did it! In 1:36:42. My pace is still slow, but I hit my “long-run” goal!!

I can tell I’m changing, because my attitude about goals has changed. I used to set them about half a mile under what I wanted, in case I didn’t make it. Now I’ve raced enough that I know I can finish three miles.

So I upped the ante! I expected that I would make it happen. My confidence is growing.

I haven’t made it to five miles since 5/27/16, the Cinco de Miler race in Chicago. I remember I seriously considered quitting three times. I could barely run to the finish line.

I only did it because my friend Lisa asked me and encouraged me to run it with her.

Benny & Joon have nothing to do with this, I just like the song and video. πŸ™‚

Today I just decided to go for it! I ran in a totally new direction, though I generally knew where I was and felt safe. I had time allotted, I was in no hurry.

I really enjoyed just seeing the trees and the paths. I made sure my phone was charged. I ended up exceeding my goal! And even with no bathroom breaks or water.

Then I went home, changed, and went to a party. My legs were sore, but I was happy.

It was so awesome to get there and mention, “I ran five miles earlier.”

Maybe a TAD obnoxious, but I earned it!

 

2 comments on “I Did Run (5.37) Miles!

  1. Richard Curl says:

    Great job, Amy! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

