The Joy of Serving: A Thanksgiving Feast

Today I was given the gift of serving the clients at the non-profit where I began work not quite four months ago.

We celebrated Wednesday, since we are closed on the holiday and Friday.

Each staff brought something to our Thanksgiving Feast, and we helped prepare the food at a table. We wore blue latex gloves and the clients filed through, pointing to and asking for what they wanted on their plates.

Prior, I had thoughts of being annoyed at having to wait. What if all the good stuff was gone? But once I saw a spot to hop in and help out, I couldn’t stop smiling.

It just felt so GOOD to do this small thing. It was also humbling. It reminded me that because of these clients, I have a job. A job which I adore and which has totally improved my life in such a short time!

And we had more than enough of everything! Even mashed potatoes.

I got to meet the daughters of another staff member who works in the office with me! They are seven and three. I was astounded to see that the seven-year-old WROTE a story– on the computer. And the grammar was mostly intact with only a few misspellings. She knew she was at her mother’s work, at a “Thanksgiving party.” The story was all about her mother, who she clearly adored.  I asked her if I could have a copy, and she graciously agreed.

How inspiring! I need to be more like that little girl. Recapture my wonder at the ordinary events in my life.

When I wake up, I’ll hit the road to visit my Mother’s family in Iowa. I plan to get going early! I am all packed.

I will arrive to myriad hugs, joking, and pictures to be taken!

This is the first Thanksgiving in five years I have been OFF work! I haven’t been to see them in two years.

I am grateful beyond compare.

I want to close with this Bible verse I found in a journal from this summer:

“Blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, who confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

Jeremiah 17: 7-8

Leave a Reply

