Right On Time: A Surprise Package/Faith Affirmation

Today I got a for-real surprise package in the mail!

When was the last time that happened? Even better, it was wrapped in brown paper. The kind we all used for book covers in grade school, like the paper bags we used to get at the grocery store. It was just wonderfully nostalgic.

A longtime friend of my father sent me a small devotional that she said had helped in the past. Not along ago, I called her for the first time in years. Talking to her was easy and so refreshing– she has that same incredible faith that my father does. She and her husband have been close friends of my dad for my entire life. She got through cancer and still works and has a bright attitude. You can hear the smile in her voice.

I thought she would send me her book, but she actually bought me one! And wrote a little inscription inside. What she wrote reminded me of the notes my Aunt Mary Jane (a Catholic nun everyone just called “Sister,”) used to write to me– about how God has a plan for me. I miss hearing that– it never gets old. It’s always comforting.

There was such warmth and love in that message she wrote.

The book is “Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence,” by Sarah Young.

And it arrives the second day of Lent. Not a coincidence, methinks.

I think I’ll incorporate reading this each morning into my Lenten routine. Something uplifting to start my day.

Although I’m strong in my faith, I still have moments of uncertainty. Receiving this gift from a strong Catholic woman I’ve known all my life was just what I needed!

Thanks, Lord. Thanks for speaking to me through our family friend to remind me that you’re listening.

I can’t wait to call and thank her!

2 comments on “Right On Time: A Surprise Package/Faith Affirmation

  1. I’ve heard great things about that book, enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

