Lent 2015: Resentment and Cheese

If I can survive 40 days without cheese, I can accomplish anything.

“Repent and believe in the Gospel.”

That’s what the priest said tonight as I received my ashes.

I’ve never heard that before, in all my years.

Before I left, I stopped to make sure that’s what he said. It’s alternative option, and I like it.

So simple. Doesn’t that just sum up being Christian or Catholic?

Take responsibility and be good to others.

This year I’m taking responsibility by doing my best to eradicate resentment. I’m not sure what that’s going to look like right now– but tentatively, it means always assuming the best and avoiding envy.

Envy is a killer for me. Can I do it?

I want to believe I can. And after 40 days of trying, I’m sure I’ll be a better person, either way.

What are you going without for Lent? Or are you taking up something instead?

Leave a Reply

