With Books in Her Purse

I’m that woman who now carries multiple books in my purse, several pens, my journal, and usually a little pad.

Who spends her money on journals and books, then groceries, or small necessities like dental floss. Who likes to eat out, and when I do, I bring a book or a journal or both with me.

Who often comes off as a bit aloof, but honestly I am quite sensitive.

Who likes to have a conversation with my books, underlining and highlighting.

Who is quiet when I first meet people, and is always a good listener. With time and familiarity, I open up and can be lighthearted and affectionate– but only if I trust you. And only if you’re respectful towards me.

Who will ask questions when she doesn’t know what to say, which is a double-win because then the other person talks and I get to learn about them.

Who thinks before I speak and chooses my words with care. Who does not speak dishonestly.

I’m never bored, because I can always read. But I am very sincere.

I care a lot about my friends, and prefer deeper friendships to a host of acquaintances.

If you ever spot me, or someone like me– you will always win if you ask what we’re reading.

4 comments on “With Books in Her Purse

  1. sanseilife says:

    Okay then, what are you reading? Do you read one book at a time or several (since you carry multiple books with you)?

    • Thanks for asking, sanseilife! 🙂

      Depends on my mood. Sometimes I’m obsessed with one book until I finish– and then I’ll reread it several times. Other times I’ll be reading a few at time, switching off. Rarely, I am too uninterested and abandon the book.

      Right now, I’m finishing “Shower of Heavenly Roses: Stories of the Intercession of St. Therese of Lisieux,” by Elizabeth Ficocelli; “Breaking Through: Catholic Women Speak for Themselves,” edited by Helen M. Alvare, and I’m about to start, “The Prodigal You Love: Inviting Loved Ones Back to the Church,” by Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP.

      How about you?

      • sanseilife says:

        I love you! I am Beta reading a book called “Laugh Out Dead” for Dr. Rupert Harker. It is a fun read and his humor is English wicked. You are way cool! I’m an extrovert who thought she was an introvert until shewent to a seminar and found out she was a confused Asian who thought she was an introvert but was really an extrovert. Long story short I am confused!

      • Aww thanks, I love you, too! I’ve heard about Beta reading– you’re giving feedback to an unpublished manuscript, right?I used to be in a writer’s group.

        I’m glad you’re enjoying that and that sounds like a great seminar! I’m not sure what I label I am– I’ve read recently about “ambiverts,” I think I may be that. I’m fine speaking in front of a group– sometimes that’s easier for me, actually. But small talk with a stranger? Forget it. lol So I’m a confused Irish/German! Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

