And I Danced

Tonight my friend Nikki invited me out for karaoke, and I said “I’m in!”

My friend Tim was bartending and my fav KJ Katrina was working again. The songs I requested kept getting scrambled or delayed.

“You’re the Queen of Technical Difficulties tonight,” Katrina said. “Sounds like my life!” I replied.

How often did something you planned not work out? But there’s always a good reason.

Tonight was about flexibility despite stymied plans.

My first song, “Speechless,” by Gaga, was a bogus track. The tempo was totally off— then it got stuck on a loop. I got her to switch out for another song, since that track was broken. I did “Come to My Window,” by Melissa Etheridge, and rocked it.

Those strong ballads and raw rock songs are my specialty.

I got Nikki to sing “Eye of the Tiger,” with me, and goofed around. She got into it and soon we were both dancing a little bit. We took pictures and just had fun.

And I noticed something: the way I sing is changing. I used to stand there meekly with my feet crossed in front of me, my water in my other hand. I would cling to the mic and only make eye contact with the screen– even when I knew the words.

Now I’m chancing eye contact– and finding that others are watching with respect. Daring to look around the room a bit, even.

I was hoping to do “How Am I Supposed to Live Without You,” by Michael Bolton– I was in the mood for some soul. But the track never materialized– it was listed, but always came up as another song. So I substituted “Love is a Battlefield,” by Pat Benatar.

And that’s when I started dancing. I had both hands up, my feet were going, my hips swaying. I was smiling and laughing– I was in my own little world. I didn’t care if anyone was paying attention or not– but I saw they were.

I sound quite a bit like Pat Benatar, and have been told before I resemble her, being petite with a pixie. I don’t harness her total firepower– but I can hold most of those notes and always get the low ones.

But I’m getting her attitude. I love it.

As my confidence grows, I’m taking up space in my performance– and that’s a small step.

Maybe next time, I’ll interact with one of the other patrons.

But I forgot how happy it makes me to just dance around. At work earlier, I got caught by a co-worker dancing in the aisles. She completely cracked up! It helps pass the time!

Karaoke used to be one of my regular activities. I remember why now– it’s just a wonderful stress relief.

Just like stand-up.

Despite being a bit shy otherwise, I like performing.

I like drawing out the shy people and getting them to loosen up and laugh in spite of themselves.

I don’t mind being silly if it helps others relax.

I know I’ll sleep better tonight because I got to belt out out some great songs, hang out with Nikki, and dance it up too. And I did it all drinking just water.

I just gotta get out more.

Leave a Reply

