The Golden Set List

I still can’t believe that I got my FIRST set list on Saturday night.

For STRYPER!

I almost gave it away at the show– I thought about it. But then I thought, “That’s crazy!”

I don’t get out to a lot of shows, but I have plenty of hardcore music fan friends who do. I know a woman who goes out to shows constantly because that’s her passion. The set list is her goal and she often gets it. She has a collection.

And I know that the SET LIST is a prize. It COULD be an adventure. It could be something to fight for!

Now I remember how in high school, the punk kids always had patches with safety pins of the bands they’d seen on their hoodies and back-packs. Usually black hoodies. I was such a goody-two shoes in high school, I didn’t even go to parties. Heck, I wasn’t even INVITED to parties. I was as straight-edge as it gets. Maybe people didn’t think to ask me because they didn’t think I’d want to go. I wish they had! But I made up for that in college.

High school was a very innocent time for me. I’m glad I had that. As I age, I realize some people never did. I had a lot of friends but I never dated anyone seriously. I was very close with my family and my youth group. I had “uncool” friends just like me and we had a blast.

I brought my leather jacket along to the show but kept it in my trunk at first. Usually it’s pretty hot in there! But unfortunately this show wasn’t a bunch of people packed together. It was people sitting at tables, and then the back section was more standing room only. I wished the crowd would get to their feet! I should have set the example. I DID scream a lot, and I’d like to think that’s why they gave me the set list. I have to say, it wasn’t as much fun in that aspect as a regular show.

Nothing beats being smashed up against a stage front-row, guarding your space like a parking spot during Chicago winter. Having to elbow other fans who wants to steal it. Getting there early to claim it. Or even better, fighting your way through the crowd and cutting in front of people and refusing to move. Being small has it’s advantages at shows! Ha ha! I’m not blocking anyone’s view, so it doesn’t usually bother anyone.

The set list is gold, with black duct tape– as per the band’s colors. The back door was open during the show, and the breeze was making me cold. So I dashed out to get my leather jacket. Better.

After the show, I had to tape that set list on my jacket! People thought it was rad.

And then I remembered those high school punk kids, and I understood. They were proud.

They were saying, “This is who I am. These are the bands I love. These are the shows I’ve seen.”

They wanted people to talk to them about it. They wanted to meet other fans, argue about the music.

On my way out, I bought a black hoodie. I paid the $55 bucks because I just really wanted it and decided to splurge for my birthday. Normally I would never pay that much for a hoodie, I’d get one at Old Navy.

But this show was special. And I don’t have any good hoodies anymore! It’s perfect for fall.

I want everyone to know I’ve seen Stryper. I want everyone to know I’m a Christian.

That hoodie isn’t just about advertising the band– it’s about claiming my identity, as well.

I hope I meet some other fans, and get in some great conversations because of it.

I may keep the list on the jacket for awhile to see what conversations it starts– but I’m also afraid some rude person will just rip it off or steal it just to be nasty.

What do I do with it? Put it on my wall? Frame it?

I want to keep it, preserve it. I wonder, how many can I get?

I don’t expect I’ll ever be GIVEN one again. Or maybe so!

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done to get a list? Tell me your stories!

What do you do with them?

Leave a Reply

