My First Catholic Bible Study

I was early, like the nerd that I am.

But the class ended up full, and I was excited! I brought the same Bible I was given in fourth grade at school (Catholic, of course.) I was happy when an older woman named Doris sat next to me. The teacher was so on fire for The Word!

I felt out of place because it seemed the others had already done this and had at least basic to intermediate knowledge about the Bible and the various apostles, prophets and etc. I was hearing all this for the first time.

We began with “Galatians: Freedom and Responsibilities.” The teacher had his entire Power Point presentation printed out in a packet, with a lot of bullet points. The focus is on St. Paul, and his letters.

The best things I learned about Paul yesterday, quoted verbatim from the hand-out prepared by our instructor:

“-He possessed a passionate love for Jesus

-He he was human and had a temper!

-He did not suffer from low self-esteem!

-He was a Pharisee, in terms of the law”

And I love this excerpt: ” Last of all, as to one born abnormally, he appeared to me. For I am the least of the apostles, not fit to be called an apostle, because I persecute the church of God. But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me has not been ineffective. Indeed, I have toiled harder than all of them; not I, however, but the grace of God [that is] with me.” 1 Cor 8-11

What a wonderful story of redemption! I’m going to be pouring over this packet and next week I’m going back with a highlighter. Learning about the humanity of the Saints is so exciting.

The best was at the end, when we all prayed The Glory Be. There’s nothing more comforting than reciting prayers in a room full of people.  Reminds me of praying over the phone with my Grandma and my Aunt Mary Jane.

Leave a Reply

