Serenity, Snowfall, and The Hobbit

The first TRUE snow  this winter is happening, right now.

Tonight I took myself on a movie date to see “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.”

And I loved it so much more than the first installment! The action was incredible. The spiders of Mirkwood. The barrel-riding escape! And of course, Bilbo’s challenge to burgle something from Smaug’s lair.

As I watched Gandalf wander on his lonesome and fend off Goblins and possibly Sauron (?), I realized that even Gandalf is just a man. An old man, at that. He’s got a magic staff and considerable power to throw behind it and aid his escape, but it seems limited to force shields, temporary disappearances and explosions to distract his enemies while he flees. Granted, it’s been awhile since I read Tolkien’s “The Hobbit,” and I never tackled the LOTR trilogy. So I don’t have in-depth knowledge about the details and powers of the characters and plot to compare with the movie.

But what I primarily noticed in this movie was everyone struggling in independent battles, constantly, for survival. They get separated from their loved ones, traveling companions, and allies. They are beseiged often by enemies. They are wounded, but must continue. They must escape imprisonment- over and over. They heal one another. They have no idea where the hell they’re going or how they will live. But fate intervenes and they find clues and help in the moments that seem most impossible. And they band together and fight on, always.

No wonder this epic tale is such an enduring metaphor and inspiration. It illustrates the struggle we all fight daily.

I drove home carefully, and was delighted by all the fresh snow. I threw down my purse, and flopped down to make a snow angel. I wrote the word “Serenity,” giggled, and ran inside. Stomped my boots. And blogged!

Tonight was beautiful. Snow is so hopeful, so renewing. The most beautiful form of precipitation.

I cherish my friends. I cherish the wisdom I’ve earned through my own journey. And I cherish my enduring faith, which leads me.

I often feel like Bilbo– small, but able to navigate by my wits.

Learning to trust myself. Daring to risk adventures, one day at a time.

In the immortal words of Mr. Tolkien, ” Not all those who wander are lost.”

Leave a Reply

