The Beauty of Solitude: Celebrating My Nerdiness

It’s Friday night a little past 10 p.m., and I’m at home.

I love it!

It’s funny, how much I’ve changed in the last decade.

A ton!

I used to be so hyper-social that I went out constantly. I loved it. I also loved calling people up and talking their ears off.

I always laugh when I remember one phone conversation with a former college friend.

She had told me, “Amee, I need to get off the phone soon.”

About 20 minutes ago. I was still going! No sign of stopping. I could really be a motor-mouth.

She realized I couldn’t be stopped, and just yelled, “I’m hanging up on you!”

I couldn’t stop laughing, because she knew me so well and I couldn’t even be offended by it.

Hey, sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do. I tell that story all the time, because it’s hilarious.

When you’re besties, you have the freedom to do stuff like that without worrying.

The funny thing is, it seems I’ve grown out of this. Now I don’t talk nearly as much.

I more often choose to stay in, especially on weekend nights.

I make plans, not very often. I’ve largely avoided crowded gatherings and parties this year.

I sometimes make exceptions, and often when I do it’s spur-of-the-moment.

Sometimes I feel rested enough, and other times I don’t. Rest is vital to me.

When I was younger, I’d go to parties just because I RSVP’d, whether I felt up to it or not.

Now I’ve realized that you’ve gotta make your own health you’re first priority. And if you have to cancel, people may be disappointed, but they usually understand. I’ve become more of an introvert. I like to read, write, and spend time alone. I can be quite social and also talk to a bunch of people, but not for long periods of time. I get exhausted from all that talking! Then I need some alone time to recharge.

I enjoy my friends, but I don’t need to see them as often. We can sustain our friendships quite well by phone and facebook. A lot of my other friends are nerds like me, so they get it. I love communicating by written word and e-mail, too.

So when I do make plans with people, they know they’re dang special! Because I do it on a choosy basis these days.

And that’s all good with me.

One comment on “The Beauty of Solitude: Celebrating My Nerdiness

  1. I do miss your phone calls though! I’ve been slacking on that from lack of habit.

Leave a Reply

