Ethics and Prayer

I define my life by ethics.

I’m a reserved person in many ways, because I don’t like to be impulsive when it comes to interacting with others when it comes to moments of impact.

I cherish the freedom to get in my car and drive on a whim, small things like that. But my conscience is what drives me to make the important decisions of my life.

And I’ve learned to trust my gut. It’s usually right.

Even if doing the “right,” thing isn’t the popular thing– even if nobody else understands, that is what I will end up doing.

And I’m proud to say I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t need the affirmation of others to make these decisions.

I used to talk over everything with my friends before I made a decision. But I found all that did was delay taking important action, and drown out my own voice. And a majority of the time, the majority rule was wrong. It also complicated my life, caused drama, and was unnecessary.

Now I feel confident enough to realize that they don’t know the facts, or the people. I do.

Now I can make decisions much quicker, and usually on my own steam.

And what has brought me to this understanding?

God. This year I’ve prayed more, written more, spent more time alone.

And in that sacred space of silence and contemplation, I’ve found own inner compass.

If I become lost for a moment, I’m no longer afraid.

I just center myself, pray, and then move forward with faith.

And you know what?

It works.

Leave a Reply

