Giving More to God

There is so much love in my life.

I have my days where I feel moody– and I’m starting to write about them, to show a more realistic picture of myself. But over all, my personality is sunny. I wear a lot of bright colors, have a wacky sense of style, and don’t care if people think my clothes match. People are usually concerned if I’m too quiet or not smiling often– usually I’m a bit of a social butterfly with a very positive attitude.

Today I reconnected with old friends, and made some new ones.

It was a day of unending wonderful social activity.

I won’t talk too much about this church, because it’s new and special and I want to just kind of keep it to myself and really enjoy this secret right now myself. But last Sunday, I found a new parish that feels like home to me. Instantly, it felt like not just a church– but a family.

I loved it so much, I joined the choir and also volunteered to help with the soup kitchen. Today was my first soup kitchen experience. It was more healing than anything I can imagine– just serving others, I felt so grateful to be able to help them. I want to do this as often as my schedule will allow. I haven’t been to my first choir rehearsal yet, but I’m excited!

In high school, I loved being in our big Broadway style musicals. And since then, I haven’t found any opportunities to sing other than karaoke in bars. Since I quit drinking and recently have stopped going to bars, I really miss singing.

I have a hard time feeling connected during Mass because I can’t hear a lot of it– even sitting close, with my hearing-aids in. This way, I could actively participate.

The idea of lifting my voice up to the Lord instead of a crowd in a bar is so exciting.

I hope I get to sing “On Eagle’s Wings,” or maybe “Be Not Afraid,” — my favorite hymns.

I’ve also requested Sundays off from my job, and my boss approved it. After some much-needed time off, I’m now returning this week. It was risky to ask for a favor after I was just off– but my sales are consistently ranked #1 in our region, and I have good job security. So I asked.

Regardless, this is a gamble, because Sunday is the busiest day and the best opportunity for me to make money as a salesperson for my product. I’ll have to work that much harder to compensate for it on my other days.

But while I was at Mass Sunday, I had a very strong impulse this is what I should do.

Give that day to God. That’s the idea with Sunday, right?

I’ve almost always accepted jobs where I have no choice but to work on Sundays, or accepted Sunday shifts.

I feel like this is what God wants me to do, right now. I can’t guarantee that I’ll be able to keep Sunday work-free forever. Maybe I won’t be able to afford it for very long, even.

But for now, it’s my plan.

God has given so much to me– it’s my turn to start giving more back to Him.

Leave a Reply

