Tink Happy Thoughts: I got recognized!

Someone recognized me today, at Family Video.

I had called to find a copy of “Hook,” since I’m in the mood to revel in Peter Pan. At the other store, I settled for “Finding Neverland,” but it’s just not the same. It’s sweet– but a bit boring. I’ll watch it another time.

“Do you have Hook,” I asked, “with Julia Roberts?”

“I only have the one with Dustin Hoffman,” the staffer answered.

“It’s got JULIA ROBERTS,” I chided him– cackling much like Julia. I’m known for it.

“All right, Hook 101,” he said. “Ahh yes, Julia Roberts!”

“Hold on to it, I’ll be right there,” I commanded.

I put on my bright orange plaid scarf, and hopped in my car. Drove through snow!

I burst in, and patiently waited. The couple in front of me allowed me to cut in.

I came up to the desk with a smile.

The staffer slammed down a copy of “Hook,” sideways.

“Tinkerbell!”

I cackled.

“How did you know?”

That’s better than being recognized for my column.

I try to be a serious person, because I’m supposed to be at 32.

But the truth is, I’m just like Tink. Playful, loyal, and unstoppable!

And I’m at my best when I celebrate my imagination.

I’m watching the movie right now, and I saw a sign in a scene with the Lost Boys, when they’re trying to help Peter remember how to fly. That he is, indeed, Pan.

“Tink Happy Thoughts,” it said.

So that’s what I’m gonna do!

I may be like Tink….

but I can be serious when needed too.

Those happy thoughts are what will get me to where I need to be.

Leave a Reply

