Common Sense: I’ll Always Love You, but Time to Move On!

After 18 months, I broke-up with my column: it ran TODAY.

I refer to it as a “break-up,” because for me this column was a commitment. And really, it was a relationship.

It was a relationship with my editor. It was a relationship with readers.

And this month, I just realized I have nothing left to say. And Valentine’s Day is coming up, so I used that in my angle to have some fun. Why not go out with a little humor and humility too?

I wrote it like a break-up letter.

I love the column– just not the spotlight. To be a columnist, you really need to have a bold personality. The point is to generate mail and stir up controversy. I did that a few times, and it was fun. But after awhile, I got tired of that. Right now, I just want to focus on my personal life without putting my opinion out there.

The column is called “Common Sense,” and I was one of several rotating columnists in The Herald-News. My hometown newspaper.

And it’s hilarious, because my friends reacted to this like they would a real break-up. I got calls and texts asking me, “Are you okay?” And “I just wanted to check on you…”

Thanks! 🙂 But yes, I’m okay. It was my decision, and it was amicable. My editor and I are on good terms. I even suggested a few replacements.

I want to make some changes in 2013, and my column takes a lot of my energy and time.

So while it was wonderful and I learned so much, right now I’m just happy and free. I don’t have another column lined up to replace it. I’m not sure about my next step– just takin’ a break for now.

Maybe I’ll try writing some features again– that’s what I love to do. Maybe I’ll blog more.

Maybe I’ll just back off writing and do something else! All delicious possibilities.

As Tom Petty would say,

“I wanna free fall, out into nothin’

Gonna leave this world for awhile.”

2 comments on “Common Sense: I’ll Always Love You, but Time to Move On!

  1. mancuso79 says:

    Sorry, but it should be, I thought it would be “a” fun angle.

  2. If that’s all you have to say after reading a good post and a great column, that’s just too bad. Lighten up, dude.

Leave a Reply

