No Pressure

A family member asked me to write an obituary– in advance– for pay.

It’s for someone who is elderly, in declining health. Basically, the person asked me to write it so this would be squared away when it *does* occur, although death is not expected anytime soon.

I’ve done these before– I used to write them for my old newspaper. I know I could do it.

But the fact that it’s family adds an extra layer of expectation. What if it’s not sentimental enough? I’m not very close with this family member, so don’t have a lot of my own details to contribute. Although, that little bit of distance may make it easier for me to write. I was given a packet of some information, and I can interview family members if needed.

I’ve been putting it off. But I need to get started.

Leave a Reply

