A Stack o’ Catholicism

This week I was back in the library, feeding my book habit.

I got a bunch of books about Catholicism, because lately I’m wrestling with it.

I had a little time before work, so cracked a book about saints and sipped some iced coffee.

I felt ridiculous, because I had more books than I could ever read before they’re due. I’ve always been like this. As a little girl, I’d always emerge with a towering pile of books. I never could read them all, but I wanted the options. Some I’d skim, others I’d devour.

A woman sitting a few tables behind me approached with a smile.

“I saw your books,” she said. “I’m Catholic.”

Wow! So awesome.

“I am too,” I told her. “Not sure what I think about it lately.”

A little bit shy, I smiled and didn’t know what else to say. She nodded and sat back down.

About 10 minutes later, she came back.

“I’m going to my car,” she said. “I have a couple of books that might be in there on Catholicism, if you want them?”

Astonished, I just smiled and nodded.

She went to retrieve the books, and brought in two for me.

Only THEN did we exchange names.

I check out books while I’m questioning my faith, and connect with a total stranger because of it.

Turns out, she’s liberal too. Wow!

I invite her to sit down, and we chat in the way that only women can when they’ve just met.  She goes to a Catholic church in town I’ve never even heard of, and we talk a little bit about our beliefs. She tells me that she has another book that I just have to read– she’ll bring it for me and leave it at the counter.

And again, I’m amazed.

6 comments on “A Stack o’ Catholicism

  1. mancuso79 says:

    Although it is a violent representation of faith, the message is one the warrents recognition. Your faith is only defined by yourself before all. Before any representative of God.

    • Thanks, I couldn’t understand the words to the prayer but looked it up, and I like it. I’ve never seen “The Boondock Saints,” but this may be the next movie I rent.

      I’m a little unclear on the last part of your message though– what do you mean, “only defined by yourself before all?”

      • mancuso79 says:

        I’m sorry. My solitary lifestyle tends to warp my typing ability. I was trying to say, your faith is defined from within first & foremost. And, “The Boondock Saints”, watch it when you are in the mood for an action flick. Not to find spiritual enlightenment. Ask Justin about it. I’m sure he has seen it.

  2. […] A Stack o’ Catholicism (unrelentingamee.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] A Stack o’ Catholicism (unrelentingamee.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] A Stack o’ Catholicism (unrelentingamee.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

