Finding the Angle: Lent 2012

Last year I began this blog a week later than planned.

But I started it because of Lent.

I have five days until Ash Wednesday, and absolutely no idea how I will honor it this year.

I thought about giving up my blog for Lent– it truly is my favorite thing. But that seems like the easy way out. Sacrifice always begets wisdom.  Giving up what we cherish is difficult to do, but the obvious angle.

Deprivation also provides immediate and continuous inspiration.

The reporter in me wants to dig deeper.

The blog forced me to adhere to my Lenten promise last year, just as my column forced me follow through with deleting facebook.

Maybe what I ought to give up this year is blogging about what I decide to do for Lent, regardless of what I choose.

THAT would really be difficult.

Leave a Reply

