YouTube and Google: Another Privacy Snafu

Yesterday, I forgot my YouTube password. I wanted to subscribe to a favorite channel.

Shortly after, I was informed on my iPhone that the password for one of my gmail accounts was incorrect.

Come again? I hadn’t changed my e-mail password.

Without realizing it, changing the password on my YouTube account overrode the password on a separate gmail account. At least, I had thought it was a separate account.

Earlier today, I signed in to Gmail to be notified that Google is streamlining its various products, and doing away with over 60 privacy policies for separate products in order to improve our customer service experience.

All these new policies go into effect March 1, 2012.

To access my e-mail, I could either read the new policy, or agree to come back to it later. I chose to come back to it later– I was in a hurry.

I never log in to YouTube. So when I had to re-set my password, I was oblivious that it was linked with my gmail account. Or at least, I’d forgotten.

So now I have to reset the Gmail password for that separate account in my iPhone, if I want to continue receiving emails. I have to remember the YouTube password I just re-set tonight– which luckily I jotted down this time.

That does not make my life easier. I don’t want the YouTube password to be my gmail password. I’m likely to forget this one.

I created two different user names for a reason– I want them separate. I don’t want them to share a password, either.

Not every internet consumer WANTS their various accounts merged. YouTube and Gmail are totally different entities, which I use for different functions entirely. YouTube is for entertainment, and I was hoping to begin using it to post video content to enrich my blogs. That was my intent, and now I’m flummoxed and reconsidering.

If I had known this was inevitable, I would have simply signed up as Unrelenting Amee on YouTube. Duh. Make it seamless.

The only alternative is to sign up for a pricey plan through WordPress that allows me to directly upload video content.

YouTube may be free– but there is a price. To create an account, you must now possess or create a Google e-mail to sign in.

And though I am only a passive YouTube subscriber at this point, I now have a “channel” by merit of setting up a basic username.

To fix this, I have to either delete my YouTube account, or delete Gmail. I’d have to do both, actually.

There is nothing equivalent for either service.

I want to start incorporating my own video content into my blogs. I might have to bite the bullet and just do it.

I may be able to avoid a social network for the time being, but there is no alternative to YouTube, which I use every day.

My only other option, as I’m aware, is to buy a WordPress product to directly upload content to my blog. It looks more complicated.

And, hey! I’m an unpaid blogger. Not viable for me. It’s not like an app, just a few dollars. It’s on the wish list– but not in the budget.

There are other e-mail providers, of course. But when I created this blog, I did so with another smaller e-mail account that a friend recommended because it was unconnected to any major corporation, and thus guaranteed the highest level of privacy.

The email listed on my WordPress account is defunct. If anyone has tried to write me there, I’ll never know.

The password required was so long that I forgot it– and after not signing in for two weeks, your account becomes inactive. Yes, I did write it down. And subsequently lost that scrap of paper. It seemed like a lot of hassle  at the time.

But had I endured that hassle when I launched Unrelenting Amee, in March 2011, I wouldn’t be in this technological conundrum.

I’m accustomed to the availability of password reminders.  Hushmail doesn’t do those.

WordPress insists that the e-mail you sign up with is the a permanent fixture on your account.

I then did research and was unable to find anything comparable to Gmail in terms of feasibility, controlling spam, and ultimately what I consider to be a superior e-mail product. So I went with Gmail.

There’s no boycotting Google. I use the search engine, Google maps, and their g-mail service. Because they’re the best.

Without facebook, I have no chat service anymore, except Google Chat. But that I can control, because only people on my contacts list– who I’ve enabled to see me on chat– can chat me up.

I’m a writer– I can’t abandon the internet! How else am I going to find information?

I’m just going to have to figure out how to deal.

One thing I’ll say for sure about the Internet in 2012:  pay attention.

If this blog post was a MySpace entry, circa 2005, my mood would be this: “Stymied.”

Leave a Reply

